Yes, Universe, yes

If I could experience an orgasm of gratitude, this would be it. One of my customers made it a point to stop in to thank me for my restaurant, the safe atmosphere, the good food and the best waiters any restaurant owner could ask for! Then shortly after I received a call from another customer that had just had lunch here. I immediately thought that she was calling because she had lost something, but instead it was an out-pour of thanks for hard work well done. I almost started to cry from the rush of gratitude.

This has been a time of challenges and adjustments for all of us. In no way do I want to glorify a pandemic that has taken peoples’ lives and livliehoods, but I also can’t ignore the lessons. We have had to re-evaluate what it means to be polite, to allow others to go ahead instead of plowing through life with selfish intent. To be generous and compassionate to others all the time, not just on special occassions. Acceptance. That even with all of our i-shit, we are not in control. Appreciation for lifes’ simple joys. I have watched diners happily sit outside during a drizzle, just enjoying being out of their homes, eating and being together. People have learned a new meaning of patience while those of us working during the pandemic have been trying to figure out how. How to make the extra time it takes to shop, how to work around shortages, how to remain in a state of physical and mental health, how to take care of others and not let their freak outs freak us out. How to blow a bubble of protection around where we are and what we do…we hope.

Since I started writing this 2 days ago, I have learned of 2 customers that have died of COVID. I am grateful for the blessings, support and appreciation that have showered upon me. I am grateful for life.

One thought on “Yes, Universe, yes

  1. Dear Noren,
    So sorry to hear of the deaths of your customers, but so very happy to hear of the wonderful compliments for you. Since I have met you, you have always put your heart and soul into your business and your food is absolutely delicious and consistent! Thank you!!!
    Xo❤️

Leave a comment